Contact about our Cincinnati water damage

Cincinnati Water Damage: Article About Categories and Classifications Of Water Damage

Griffin Contracting and Restoration: Professional Water Damage Restoration Cincinnati OH
Griffin Contracting and Restoration banner

Water damage comes from a variety of sources. Broken pipes, clogged toilets and natural disasters all cause different kinds of water damage that needs to be handled quickly and carefully. The longer water stagnates in a structure, the harder it is to restore the structure to a safe and functional state. In addition to the length and degree of exposure to water, categories and classes of water damage also affect restoration efforts. Cincinnati water damage experts classify water damage into several categories and classes.

Water categories are based on the contents and source of water and the risk it poses to humans who are exposed to it. Category One Water, also known as Clean Water, does not pose any special threats. The most common causes of damage that include Category One Water are broken pipes that supply water to bathrooms and kitchens and sink or tub overflows. Grey Water, or Category Two Water, may contain contaminants. Water from dishwashers and washing machines falls into this category. It may contain chemical, biological or physical elements that can cause mild sickness or discomfort. Category Three Water, often referred to as Black Water, contains harmful bacteria and fungi. Contact with or exposure to Black Water can cause severe sickness or discomfort. Common sources of this are sewage, sea water and standing water.

The water damage experts at Griffin Contracting and Restoration of Cincinnati OH can assist you with any questions regarding flooding damage or flooded basements.

Grey Water that stagnates in an area may be treated as Black Water.

In addition to categorizing water by content and safety, water is also classified by rates of evaporation. The class of water damage is important when determining the best approach to restoration and the drying procedures that will be most effective. Class One is used for slow rates of evaporation, such as portions of rooms and materials with a low permeance with minimal moisture absorption. Class Two indicates a fast rate of evaporation; this water damage affects carpeting, cushioning and other upholstery, but it doesn't wick up the walls more than 24 inches. Class Three water damage usually has an overhead source and affects ceilings and insulation in addition to the areas affected by Class Two damage. Finally, Class Four damage, or specialty drying situations, involves areas such as crawl spaces or special materials like hardwood floors, concrete and plaster. Each class of water damage requires special restoration procedures.

Identifying the category and classification of water damage is essential to choosing an effective restoration method. In addition to these two pieces of information, water damage restoration also relies on the length of moisture or water exposure and the amount of water.

Contact Griffin Contracting and Restoration today

For 24 hour emergency services, please call us today at (859) 908-0387 or submit the form below.

Contact Water Damage Restoration Contractors

click to call

click to submit form